self portrait 2011
self portrait 2011

1) It’s not my job to make people treat me well.

2) It’s also not my moral obligation to patiently endure and forgive people who are abusive–regardless of how much they are suffering.

self portrait 2012
self portrait 2012

3) I know better than anyone else what I have experienced.

4) I am under no obligation to give other people my time when I don’t want to.

self portrait 2012
self portrait 2012

5) Nobody gets to tell me who I am.

6) I am not interested in bashing myself for choosing not to live according to other people’s expectations.

self portrait 2013
self portrait 2013

7) I can trust that my emotions are legitimate information to work with, not irrational inconveniences for other people to shut down.

8) I don’t have to change everything about myself.

self tracing (dry erase maker on mirror) 2013
self tracing (dry erase maker on mirror) 2013

9) I am allowed to pick my battles.

10) It’s ok to not be ok all the time.

self portrait 2011
self portrait 2011

Bonus: But sometimes I get to  be happy

