My aunt's kitty helps to arrange the colors!
My aunt’s kitty helps to arrange the colors!

I’m the sort of person who likes to always have busy hands.

For a few years I’ve been using up little bits and pieces of yarn to make a colorful afghan. (Originally the plan was just to use up old bits, but of course I ended up buying some more yarn too…)

I love having a project I can just pick up and work on, especially while I’ve been recovering from back issues this year. And I can easily bring a bag of yarn with me while I’m visiting friends, to keep my hands busy, and make a couple of squares.

The colors make me really happy!

tumblr_npl1d5vEjU1thx1cgo2_1280

I’ve been playing around with arranging the colors. I want the layout to be balanced without following a strict pattern.

Last night I decided to start with 3×3 blocks of color themes that feel right together. It feels a little less overwhelming than working with all the squares at once. Who knows, maybe I’ll end up taking them all apart… but it’s fun for now!

Photo on 2015-08-24 at 21.09

If you’d like see some of my other projects, they live on my Tumblr.

